News article

Celebrating collaboration and innovation as 2019’s C2I winners are announced

Back to all news

The winners of The Engineer's 2019 Collaborate to Innovate (C2I) awards were presented with their prizes at a ceremony which took place in London yesterday evening (6 November).

C2I, for which Frazer-Nash is the headline sponsor, aims to discover and celebrate the great examples of engineering collaboration that are solving the challenges and problems faced by society.

Frazer-Nash's Managing Director, Neil McDougall, who was also involved in the judging process, was asked to record a welcome speech for the event’s opening. You can view his short video below and read what he said here.

With ten categories to choose from, this year's winners are:

Energy and Environment

SCENe (Sustainable Community Energy Networks): University of Nottingham, Smartklub; A T Kearney, Igloo Blueprint, Loughborough University, SlamJam, URBED, Solar Ready, Confers

Healthcare and Medical

Laparoscopic molecular probe for prostate cancer surgery: Lightpoint Medical, National Physical Laboratory

Information, Data and Connectivity

GeoSHM Project. This project uses satellites and sensors to remotely monitor bridge safety: UbiPOS UK Ltd, University of Nottingham, BRDI (China Railway Major Bridge Reconnaissance & Design Institute Co. Ltd.), Leica Geosystems, GVL (Geomatic Ventures Limited), Amey, Transport Scotland

Aerospace, Defence and Security

UK scientists generate electricity from rare element to power future space missions. A project to power future space missions with stockpiled plutonium: University of Leicester, National Nuclear Laboratory, European Thermodynamics Ltd


Magnet Free Traction Motors for Commercial Vehicles (HDSRM): Advanced Electric Machines Limited, Tevva Motors, Newcastle University, Motor Design Limited

Manufacturing Technology

SHYMAN – sustainable hydrothermal manufacturing of nanomaterials: Promethean Particles, UVa, Institute of High Pressure Warsaw, Czech Technical Univeristy, VLCI, University of Oxford, TopGaN, Solvay, Repsol, Pielaszek Research, PPG, GTVT s.r.o., Centro Ricerche Fiat, Endor Nanotechnologies, Ceramisys

Young Innovator

This went to the extremely talented Freddie Howells, aged 14 for his Facial Recognition Door Entry System and Home Monitoring System for the Elderly, developed in partnership with the Centre for Excellence in Technology Enhanced Care

The Grand Prix award, chosen from all the winners went to Magnet Free Traction Motors for Commercial Vehicles (HDSRM), the winner in the automotive category.

For more information on the awards, visit: