News article

Celebrating collaboration and innovation as C2I winners announced

Back to all news

The winners of The Engineer's 2018 Collaborate to Innovate (C2I) awards were presented with their prizes at a ceremony which took place in London yesterday (6 November).

C2I, for which Frazer-Nash is the headline sponsor, aims to discover and celebrate the great examples of engineering collaboration that are solving the challenges and problems faced by society.

Frazer-Nash's Engineering Director, Chris Guyott, who was also involved in the judging process, opened the evening's proceedings (pictured above). Chris suggested that the innovations entered into the C2I competition are changing lives and changing the future; and that the complementary skills and experience brought by each member of a collaborative team is essential for a successful outcome.

With ten categories to choose from, this year's competition also featured three categories focussed on education and engagement: the Academic Innovator award; the Young Innovator award; and the Young Innovator Engagement award.

The winners were:

  • Energy, Efficiency and Sustainability
    • Balanced Energy Network (BEN) - ICAX with London South Bank University, Upside Energy, Origen Power, Cranfield University, Mixergy, TFGI
  • Healthcare and Medical
    • Universal Plasma - NIRI with NHSBT, Macopharma
  • Information, Data and Connectivity
    • MOVE_UK - Robert Bosch Ltd with Jaguar Land Rover Limited, TRL Limited, The Floow Limited, Direct Line Insurance Services Limited, Royal Borough of Greenwich
  • Aerospace, Defence and Security
    • Keyhole Surgery for Jet Engines - Rolls-Royce plc with University of Nottingham
  • Manufacturing Technology
    • SitSki - High Value Manufacturing Catapult (HVMC) with Manufacturing Technology Centre (MTC), Warwick Manufacturing Group (WMG), National Composites Centre (NCC), Advanced Manufacturing Research Centre (AMRC), Centre for Process Industries (CPI)
  • Automotive
    • UK Autodrive - Arup with AXA Insurance, Coventry City Council, Ford Motor Company, Gowling WLG, Horiba MIRA, Jaguar Land Rover, Milton Keynes Council, RDM Group (Aurrigo), Tata Motors European Technical Centre, Thales, The Open University, Transport Systems Catapult, University of Cambridge, University of Oxford
  • Academic Innovator
    • South West Nuclear Hub: nuclear energy teaching, research and innovation - South West Nuclear Hub (University of Bristol) with University of Oxford, Sellafield Ltd, EDF Energy, Atkins, Magnox, National Nuclear Laboratory, Kyoto University
  • Young Innovator - Engagement
    • Living in Space and Young Innovators Programme - SMASHfestUK with Middlesex University, The Refinery, Deptford Green School -  Design and Technology Year 9 students, Llangatwg Community School Year 8 students, Haberdashers' Aske's Hatcham College Sixth Form, Christ the King Sixth Form, AstroCymru, Monster Paw Games, Little Inventors, University of Greenwich, Science and Technology Facilities Council, Royal Academy of Engineering, UK Space Agency.

 For more details, visit: